Putting the World Back Together

I’m sorry I can’t fix everything

I can’t put the world back together

because the pieces are magnetic

but both negitive

or positive

pushing away from each other

refusing to touch

 

This is the world I live in

a world that spins

or falls

in tight spirals of chaos

like a yo-yo

and I can’t stop it

 

But I’ll do what I can

to help you

to save you

even when I think the yo-yo string is going to snap

and we are never coming back up

 

Even when all I can do is listen

Even when I have nothing to say

no way to reach you with words or thoughts

because you are so beyond me in your pain

 

When I have nothing else

I will give you handfuls of sunshine

 

And maybe we’ll be ok

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Putting the World Back Together

Leave a comment